Six Months

Today marks six months since Claudia, my first doll, arrived home. That means I’ve been collecting dolls for half a year now! At what point am I no longer a newbie?

I’m actually really happy with where my collection is at. I like the themes and pockets of cohesiveness that I’ve developed within my collection.

I resisted buying yet another doll — which took quite a lot of willpower. But I resisted because I really want to enjoy the dolls I currently have. I want to experience a period where I’m not constantly buying and opening and unboxing yet another doll. My collection has been constantly growing these last six months. It really hasn’t been able to just pause, take a breath, and just exist.

(Also, I have a doll already making its way towards me. In my defense, I bought it two weeks ago, and it’s arriving from Japan.)

I also really want to nail down a display option for my dolls. Before, all of my dolls fit in the dollhouse, and I could take the ones I wanted to photograph and pose them at the top of the bookcase next to the dollhouse. But now, the top of the bookcase is also full of dolls, and I have to move them every time I want to take some photos, or I have to photograph dolls in front of the dolls already there, which isn’t a big deal, but I really do like the option of having a blank canvas. This means, I need another display option to house the dolls currently at the top of my bookshelf, so that the top of the bookcase can remain empty. Yes, I know… I’m shaking my head too. #DollCollectorProblems

Leave a comment